Lee is the Robert Shrock Emeritus Professor of Geological Sciences at Indiana University. Prior to his retirement about five years ago he served as both Chair of the Department of Geological Sciences and Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. He has been honored with the President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching at Indiana University, the Outstanding Educator Award given by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, and the Neil Minor Award presented annually by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers to an individual for his or her contributions to geoscience education through superior teaching. At Byron he co-leads a field exploration of the deep natural history of the Turkey Run area.